Lilly reveals major senior leadership reshuffle

pharmafile | October 2, 2017 | Appointment | Business Services, Manufacturing and Production, Medical Communications, Research and Development, Sales and Marketing Eli Lilly, biotech, drugs, pharma, pharmaceutical 

Eli Lilly revealed on 29 September that it would promote four staff members to senior staff positions, and two senior leaders would retire. The positions that are being filled are of some significance to the business, with Josh Smiley becoming the company’s new Chief Financial Officer and Dan Skovronsky would become Senior Vice President for Science Technology and President of Lilly Research Labs.

The retirement of Derica Rice, the current CFO, had already been announced back in June, he will leave the company after 27 years at the company and had held the position for over a decade. He will be replaced by Josh Smiley, who has plenty of experience working in a number of roles at the company, including previously having held the role of CFO of Lilly Research Laboratories and will step up from his current position as Treasurer.

In the other major switch, Skovronsky will lead Lilly Research Labs, replacing Jan Lundberg in June 2018. Lilly noted that Lundberg’s leadership of the unit was particularly successful, as he oversaw the development of 20 new medicines in the course of 10 years.

“Joining our executive team are individuals who have the experience, expertise and leadership skills to build on our momentum of innovation driven volume growth,” said Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, David A. Ricks. “Importantly, this team will help us maintain focus as we work to bring forward new medicines in diabetes, cancer, immunology, neurodegeneration and pain and change the path of serious disease.”

The changes saw Myles O’Neill promoted to Senior Vice President and President of Manufacturing Operations, taking over the position from Maria Crowe, a veteran of 35 years at the company. As well as this Aarti Shah, current Chief Information Officer, was named an executive officer. All of the appointment, barring Skovronsky, will take up their respective positions on 1 January 2018.

Related Content

Eli Lilly’s Jaypirca approved in US for leukaemia and lymphoma treatment

Eli Lilly has announced that the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has approved Jaypirca …

Eli Lilly’s Zepbound approved by FDA for chronic weight management

Eli Lilly has announced that the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has approved Zepbound …

Eli Lilly’s Omvoh receives FDA approval for ulcerative colitis treatment

Eli Lilly has announced that the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has approved Omvoh …

Latest content